Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Muhyiddin, Zahid and Mukhriz draw No.1

KUALA LUMPUR: Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin is candidate number one in the Umno deputy president’s race.

Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam and Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib are number two and three respectively.

Under a new system implemented yesterday, candidates acquired their positions through the drawing of lots.

The numbers were picked out of a box by officials from the Umno election selection committee.

The numbers will be used in party election campaigns, on voting sheets and for delegates to identify their candidates.

Previously, candidates with the highest number of nominations were placed on top.

For the vice-presidency, Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi heads the list of contenders.

Next is Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal, followed by Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim, Tan Sri Mohd Isa Samad, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar, Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin, Tan Sri Abdul Rahim Tamby Chik and Datuk Seri Hisham­muddin Tun Hussein. (Hishammuddin received the highest number of nominations).

In the Umno Youth chief race, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir drew number one with Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo and Khairy Jamaluddin getting numbers two and three respectively. The heat is obviously on in the race for the Youth top post as the crowd cheered loudly for all three candidates.

Mukhriz said that although Muslims do not believe in superstition, “the number one spot does feel good”.

Khairy said he did not care about the number and was confident of his chances. “It’s going to be a tough fight,” he said nonetheless.

Dr Khir did not attend the lot drawing yesterday.

For the Wanita chief post, Tan Sri Rafidah Aziz drew number one ahead of her only challenger Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil.

No comments:

Post a Comment